Back to Top
Carl P. Wiezalis UFS Fellow Award

Carl P. Wiezalis University Faculty Senate Fellow Award

Purpose of the Award

This is the Senate’s highest honor to give to one of its own. The University Faculty Senate from time to time may bestow the status of Fellow on a current or former UFS Senator. An individual so honored must have achieved a reputation for exceptional service in the area of faculty governance.

Nature of the Honor

The Fellow will be recognized with a plaque and other suitable gift. The name of the individual selected for the honor shall be announced in the Senate Bulletin and on the UFS website. Further, a recognition letter from the Senate President will be sent to the Fellow and the Fellow’s home campus president.


Only SUNY faculty and professional staff will be eligible. A Fellow must have made extraordinary and distinguished contributions to the area of faculty governance in several capacities for a minimum of ten (10) years, which do not need to be consecutive. Eligible service may include both the UFS and System levels.

Selection Process

Nominations may be made by any member of the University Faculty Senate to the President of the University Faculty Senate. The nomination letter must detail and set forth the candidate’s merit for selection. Eligible service may include both the UFS and System levels. Nominations will be accepted on an on-going basis. The recipient will be chosen by the University Faculty Senate Executive Committee from the nominees. Questions can be referred to the President of the University Faculty Senate.


The President of the University Faculty Senate will endeavor to arrange for the honoree to be present at the Plenary meeting at which the status of Fellow is bestowed.


A Fellow designation is awarded to honor a person’s level of commitment to faculty governance. As such this individual would provide a valuable historical perspective to the on going activities of the Senate. Accordingly, a Fellow:

Dr. Kenneth P. O'Brien Associate Professor and UFS President May 2016
Dr. Ronald Sarner Distinguished Service Professor
SUNY Polytechnic Institute
April 2015
Mr. Joseph Hildreth Distinguished Service Professor
SUNY Potsdam
April 2009
Dr. Norman Goodman Distinguished Teaching Professor
Distinguished Service Professor
Stony Brook University
January 2007


University Faculty Senate