University Faculty Senate

University Faculty Senate

You have reached the SUNY UFS Archive Site.

Here you will find archived materials only. To view up to date information, please visit

Follow us          

Twitter icon @SUNYUFS


The SUNY Board of Trustees approved the creation of the University Faculty Senate on October 8, 1953. Article VII of the SUNY Policies of the Board of Trustees states "the Senate shall be the official agency through which the University Faculty engages in the governance of the University. The Senate shall be concerned with effective educational policies and other professional matters within the University."  

The UFS membership consists of the Chancellor of the University, two University representatives having University-wide responsibilities and representatives from each State-operated unit and contract college. This is a total of 33 SUNY colleges. This makes the University Faculty Senate one of the largest faculty governance organizations in the country!  

The University Faculty Senate serves as a resource on governance for the University. It serves as a deliberative body on educational policies for the SUNY System. In this capacity it issues publications such as handbooks, directories and reports on matters such as budget, program revision and presidential searches. This Web site is designed to be a repository for documents and information produced by the University Faculty Senate.

University Faculty Senate
SUNY Plaza - S120
Albany, NY  12246

Gwen Kay

Vice President/Secretary:
Keith Landa

Program Coordinator
Jennifer Redinger

University Faculty Senate

For full calendar of meetings, plenaries, and events, visit