Back to Top
Distinguished Faculty Ranks

Distinguished Faculty Ranks

Distinguished Faculty Rank programs encourage ongoing commitment to excellence, kindle intellectual vibrancy, elevate the standards of instruction and enrich contributions to public service. They demonstrate the State University’s pride and gratitude for the consummate professionalism, the groundbreaking scholarship, the exceptional instruction and the breadth and significance of service contributions of its faculty. 

Appointment constitutes a promotion to the State University’s highest academic rank, and it is conferred solely by the State University Board of Trustees.

Call for Nominations – Distinguished Faculty Ranks for 2017-18 and 2018-19:  PDF | docx

Distinguished Service Professorships and Distinguished Teaching Professorships Nomination Allocations for Academic Year 2018-19:  PDF | docx

Distinguished Faculty Ranks - 2017-19 Guidelines‌ (PDF)

Cover Sheet for Nomination Portfolio 2017 (docx)

Questions regarding these procedures or appointments are to be directed to Yvette Roberts, Program Manager for Faculty and Staff Awards, who can be reached at (518-320-1670).


Office of the Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Office of Academic Affairs, Room S-525
State University of New York System Administration
State University Plaza, 353 Broadway
Albany, NY 12246

Academic Affairs