Senator Emeritus Award

Senator Emeritus Award

Purpose of the Award

The Senator Emeritus Award is conferred by the University Faculty Senate. Nominees for the award must have achieved a reputation for outstanding service to the Senate in several capacities over a considerable period of time.

Nature of the Award

The Senator Emeritus Award will consist of a gift emblematic of the candidate’s service. This award shall be presented by the Senate President during the Fall or Winter Plenary.

The name of the individual selected for the award shall be announced in the Senate Bulletin and on the UFS website.


A candidate must be or have been a SUNY faculty or staff member. A candidate for the Senator Emeritus award must have made a significant contribution to the Senate in several capacities over a period of at least 10 years.

Nomination and Selection Process


Supporting Materials


All supporting materials must be delivered to the University Faculty Senate President.

Richard Collier

ProfessorSUNY Polytechnic Institute

April 2015
James McElwaine Professor
Purchase College
May 2013
Dr. Rose Rudnitski Associate Professor
SUNY New Paltz
October 2011
Mr. Carl Wiezalis Distinguished Service Professor
Upstate Medical University
October 2009
Mr. Edward Alfonsin Associate Professor Emeritus
SUNY Potsdam
April 2009
Dr. Ram Chugh Distinguished Service Professor
SUNY Potsdam
January 2007
Vincent Aceto Distinguished Service Professor
University at Albany
October 2005
Joe Flynn Distinguished Service Professor
Alfred State College
April 2002
University Faculty Senate